Seafood and Sun Worshipping Go Hand in Hand

When I was in LA with my girlfriend T back in 2008, her sister Ag took us to go to this super famous garlic noodle restaurant called Thanh Long down at Beverly Hills. Since the crab was over my budget, I opted for Maine Lobster with garlic noodles. Honestly, the noodles was too oily for my liking, but it was cooked to al-dente’s perfection and the taste was impeccable. To this day, whenever someone mentions garlic noodles, I immediately think of that garlic noodle.

So yesterday, H, D and I decided to hunt some afternoon sun and good seafood. We went to try this new restaurant called Lookal Mar, the new sister of Lookal San Jorge down at Ilha. We were blown away by the freshness of the crabs and tiger prawns. It was pricey, but not much pricier than if we go to next door restaurants. At least we’re paying for real fruits de mer, instead of some standard grilled bacalhau or steak.

After a good afternoon spent digging the sweet nuggets accompanied by Caipiblack and Caipirinha Maracuja, I brought whatever is left over of our hairy crab. I immediately thought of making a replica of this Thanh Long dish. I didn’t even ask D if he wanted to bring it home, I just said I want the leftover. It would be a little bit tricky, I figured, because the crab is already cooked and all I have now is the meat. But eventually, it was much simpler than I expected.

GARLIC BLACK PEPPER CRAB
(adapted from Rasa Malaysia)
serve 2

cooked crab meat enough for two – I used the leftover from 1 large claw and 2 legs
1 tbsp butter
1 medium garlic clove, minced
3/4 tsp chicken bouillon powder
3/4 tsp black pepper, pounded with pestle and mortar

  • Heat up the butter in a wok. When it starts to foam, add in the garlic and cook a little. Add in the crab meat and toss well.
  • Add in the chicken bouillon and black pepper. Toss and adjust taste. Serve with garlic noodle.
GARLIC NOODLE
(adapted from Rasa Malaysia)
dried noodle / thick pasta for two
3 clove garlic, pounded
2 tbsp OO
2 tbsp unsalted butter 
1/2 tsp chicken bouillon powder
1 tsp oyster sauce
5 tsp grated parmesan
  • Cook the noodle as per manufacturer’s instruction. Once cooked, drained and transfer to a mixing bowl to cool down.
  • In a pan, sautee garlic in olive oil over medium heat. The purpose is to make the oil infused with garlic. Once the garlic has turned brown, discard it and transfer the oil to a bowl.
  • Add in butter, chicken bouillon powder, oyster sauce into the oil, and blend well.
  • Pour over the mixture over the noodle, added with grated parmesan and toss. Taste and adjust the seasoning.
  • If using garlic black pepper, add in and toss until everything is well blended. Serve immediately.

Try it and tell me if you are not over the moon over this dish!

What do you think?

