Sugar & Company

He that but looketh on a plate of ham and eggs to lust after it hath already committed breakfast in his heart.
– C. S. Lewis

Banana Waffle with Pearl Sugar

The past few days, my taste bud has been somewhat off. I am craving for something that I don’t even know what. I’d thought I wanted some pasta, only to turn it down after one taste. I’d thought I wanted some cheese, making H got up and fetched it from the fridge, I changed my mind. It seems sweets are all I want these days.

Pearl Sugar

I had thought I knew all that I needed to know about sugar and the variety there are. Then I came to France and went grocery shopping, wanting to buy a regular white sugar. Boy, was I dumbfounded with the many options for a simple sugar. Even with a decent level of french, I could not make sense any of it.

There is sucre cristallisé (your every day white sugar), sucre semoule & sucre en poudre (finer than regular white sugar, aka castor sugar), sucre glace (icing sugar), perles de sucre (pearl sugar) then there’s cassonade (natural brown sugar), sucre de canna (unrefined brown sugar), and then there’s sugar in sachet the commonly use in french baking: sucre vanille (sugar infused with vanilla). There are more, I’m sure. Needless to say, my pantry is now filled with several variety of sugar, as if I’m a sugar collector.
Banana Waffle 2
I never get to make chouquettes, a classic french snack, the whole reason I bought the pearl sugar in the first place. But here’s a really delicious recipe with pearl sugar, for breakfast or for snacks..

BANANA WAFFLE WITH PEARL SUGAR
(adapted from Oh Lady Cakes)
makes about 20+ small waffles

2 tsp active dry yeast
1/4 C warm water, about 37-38 C – do a finger test. If it’s too warm for your finger, it’ll kill the yeast
a pinch of white sugar
2 C all purpose flour – I used T45
1/2 tsp sea salt
3 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 C melted butter or ghee
1/2 C roughly mashed banana – about 1.5 small banana
1/2 C warm milk
1 C pearl sugar

chocolate sauce or nutella, to garnish
toasted sliced almond, to garnish

  • In a small-medium bowl, add in the yeast with a pinch of sugar and pour in the warm water. Let it rest for about 10 mins until foamy.
  • In a large bowl, whisk well the flour, salt, brown sugar and cinnamon.
  • Once the yeast has been activated (i.e. foamy), pour it into the flour mixture, together with the vanilla, melted butter, mashed banana and warm milk. Stir with a spoon. The mixture will be sticky and dense. Add in the pearl sugar and mix well.
  • Cover with cling wrap and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.
  • Warm up your waffle maker. Spray with non stick cooking oil if needed, otherwise using an ice cream scoop, place 1 scope on each side.
  • Cook for few minutes, checking often. Serve warm on its own or with chocolate sauce and toasted almonds.

You can also eat this room temperature, but as the waffle gets colder, it gets harder.

3 comments

What do you think?

