Watching The Moon

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”
“What’s for breakfast?” said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”
“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.
Pooh nodded thoughtfully. “It’s the same thing,” he said.

― A.A. Milne

Ham & Cheese French Toast 02
Ham & Cheese French Toast 03Ham & Cheese French Toast 04

It feels like we are back in time, back to when we were dating. When we were constantly separated by time, by continent and sea. Just before my world went to sleep, I stayed up and waited for you. Praying the internet would work this time and I would not get frustrated that I couldn’t hear every other word you say. What is a second or few? That was how long it took for me to hear you and vice versa. Do you remember, one day you tried to console me about our separation by looking at the moon? You said we would be together by the next full moon. I always had to stretch my head and look for it amidst the skyscrapers, while you could easily see one whenever you step out of your cabin. Two years and 20 hour flight later, I stepped out of the duane and finally.. finally you became a constant sight.

So whenever we are separated, I watch the moon. And I know, by new moon, you will be home. With me, with us.

Be safe, my love.

When Croque Monsieur meets Pain Perdu
HAM & CHEESE FRENCH TOAST
(Inspired by Food52)
Makes 2 sandwiches

4 slices of brioche
1 large egg
1 tbsp milk
1 tbsp chopped spring onion
1 tbsp chopped coriander
salt & black pepper
Gruyere cheese, sliced
2 slices of thick ham – Mine requires precooking of 1 min each side
butter or cooking spray

  • In a shallow bowl, mix the egg, milk, spring onion, coriander and season with salt & black pepper. Gently whisk with fork.
  • If needed, prepare your ham. I used a ham that requires pre-cooking, which starts melting the cheese as soon as I start to assemble the sandwich.
  • Assemble the sandwich: brioche, cheese, ham, cheese, brioche. Gently lay the constructed sandwich on the egg mixture, pressing a little to make sure the brioche absorbs the mixture. Then flip and repeat.
  • In a pan, melt some butter over medium fire and gently lay the constructed sandwich. After a minute or so, flip onto the other side. Cook for another 1 minute. Serve immediately.
2 comments

What do you think?

