Pain (free) au chocolat

In case you didn’t know, I brought back 5 suitcases from France. Only one is full of clothes. The rest is food (wet and dry) of some kind. And puff pastry is one of them. Well, who could ever say no to cheater’s guideline to painfree pain au chocolat? Of course I want to try some too!

I never say consistency is in my gene. Out of a single puff pastry block, I have 8 “pain au chocolat” of different shapes. I figured I shall try “making” some  croissants too. Of course of all the shapes, the single chocolate bar, rolled like a sausage roll shows the best result.

Ooh, I envy all you who have easy, cheap, access to pate feuilletee (puff pastry).

PAIN (FREE) AU CHOCOLAT
(adapted from epicurious)
makes 8

1 puff pastry block, rolled out to 0.5cm thickness & cut into 8 squares (if you want croissant, cut into triangles)
40 g of semi sweet chocolat, cut into bars
1 egg, whisked

  • Preheat oven to 200 C. Line baking tray with parchment paper.
  • On top of each square, lay the chocolate block. Fold & close tightly.
  • Brush the top with egg glaze.
  • Bake 15 mins till brown.

Note: I would have sprinkle a little salt on top of my chocolate block, to have that sweet+salty blend. But that’s me.

What do you think?

