Read and Bake

There are so many ways to enjoy a book. In a morning, I like to cuddle up in a sofa by the window and read with a cuppa coffee. At night, I irritate H by reading way into the wee hours, way past his and my bed time. Many book lovers will probably curse me when I disrespect a book by folding the page corner. Many dream of having a library. I did too, at one point in my life, until I realize I’m much too practical for my own good. That’s why I love Kindle so much.

Reading Jodi Picoult, one can not whittle through the pages. It isn’t like reading Sophie Kinsella where you giggle and can’t put down until you know what the she-devil is up to next. Jodi Picoult has that innate talent to force you to put the book down. Often it takes me couple of times to re-read her paragraph. Much like eating Super Lemon, you might be thrown off by the acidic taste but once you get it over with, there is a degree of sweetness inside.

So this morning, I put down her book and made avocado muffin. I remembered buying two very ripe avocado, not one very ripe and one very raw avocado. SO SO ANGRY.. there goes my avocado frosting. So I swapped it with fluffy white frosting, the one that tastes and smells like marshmallow. I should really name this muffin Ebony and Ivory. Tsk.

CHOCOLATE AVOCADO MUFFIN
(adapted from Joy The Baker)
makes 30 muffins

3 cups cake flour
6 tbsp sweetened cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used soy oil)
1/2 cup avocado puree (mashed avocado)
2 tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups water
1.5 cup granulated sugar

  • Preheat oven to 175 C. Prepare your muffin cups.
  • In a large bowl, mix the cake flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and baking soda.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk the vegetable oil, avocado puree, lemon juice, vanilla extract, water and slowly add in sugar till well incorporated.
  • Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Whisk well.
  • Pour the batter into the muffin cups till 3/4 full.
  • Bake for 20 mins or till toothpick inserted comes clean. Let it cool on a wire rack for 15 mins before  frosting.

FLUFFY WHITE FROSTING
(source All Recipes)

1 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup water
2 eggs white
1/4 tsp cream of tartar (add more if needed)
1/2 tsp vanilla

  • In a pot, mix the sugar, water and vanilla. Boil it on medium high heat till sugar has dissolved and the mixture becomes bubbly.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk the egg white aided by the cream of tartar till soft peaks.
  • Slowly add in the sugar mixture while continue whisking until hard peaks. It took me 2 more pinches of cream of tartar and a good 10 mins.

Note: When making the muffin batter, I can really taste the avocado. So it was quite a disappointment when on the baked muffin, the taste disappears. And I’m really unhappy about not doing the avocado frosting. The light lime green would have been a nice muffin colour.

(later in the day, over phone)
H : Baby?
Me : Yes?
H : Who is the object of your affections?
Me : Duh! I would have thought it’s clear.
H : Hihihi, I like when you are creative like this.  Je t’aime, mon coeur.

Men are so easy to please.

One comment

What do you think?

