Have an Egg Day!

If it were up to me, everyday would be egg day. Sunny side up, poached, half boiled or even hard boiled egg with my beloved maggi sauce. But today is an egg day and I’m happy to report that I finally nail the art of baking an egg in a cup. Tee hee..

Runny on the inside, the bacon not too hard to chew, easy to remove from the muffin cups. In one word, divine and it looks damn inviting. This time round, I pre-heat my oven to 200 C. On average my oven loses 10 degrees every time I open the door. But when I insert my muffin tray, I lover the temperature to 175 C. Then baked for 10 mins. Voila! That simple.


BACON-WRAPPED EGG IN A NEST
(adapted from Fifteen Spatulas)
yield 2

2 slices bacon
2 eggs
Diced tomatoes
Grated cheddar – I used mature red leicester
Basil, for garnishing
Freshly ground black pepper
oil spray
day-old bread, sliced and shaped in a circle to fit your muffin cup

      • Preheat oven to 200 C. Spray the muffin cups with oil.
      • In a non-stick pan, over medium heat: cook the bacon on both sides till it’s done but still pliable (3-4 mins each side). Do not over cook it because the oven will finish the job later.
      • Lay the bacon into the muffin tray to form a nest and fill the bottom with bread. Add some diced tomatoes, crack an egg in each cup, grate some cheese on top.
      • Insert the tray into the oven and lower the temperature to 175 C at the same time. Bake for 10 mins.
      • Carefully remove the egg nest, sprinkle with black pepper and garnish with basil. Serve immediately.

2 comments

What do you think?

