All in The Name of Love


My toyboy has been working really hard lately. He’s been clocking in over weekends, extra hours when I’m at school, and still insists on picking me up and walking me home to our haven. He doesn’t complain but when his definition of ‘cuddle cuddle’ is on bed with him doing sudoku satanic*  half asleep, I know my boy is in need of extra hug.

You have no idea how disappointed he was when the electricity died on us the other day. But when all is semi-well again, I made him a little blue ribbon chicken aka le cordon bleu.

My chicken actually looked more like little sea lions, and while the convention of cooking cordon bleu is over the stove top (sur un poele), my little sea lions will be far from done. So I finished it in the oven, 175 C for 20 mins. Also, instead of the normal chapelure, I used Japanese Panko.

I made two versions, one using soft cheese edam and the other using cream cheese. I also tried making the basil cream sauce as recommended in one of the comment feedback. And here are the verdicts..


This version above, I used soft cheese. The first thing you notice is how the cheese is still gooey, but not turning liquid, despite the 20 mins in the oven. I also pour the basil cream on top, look fancy  but I personally think is a killjoy since the panko was so crispy.


This one I used cream cheese. Can you imagine the joy H had when he saw this?

Overall, I would make this again with cream cheese, without basil cream and I will obediently pound my chicken to half inch thickness. I promise.

LE CORDON BLEU
(adapted from Marmiton and All Recipes)
serve 2

breast meat of 1 chicken (or two halves)
2 slices of ham – I used cured ham
2 wedges of cream cheese – I used La Vache Qui Rit
Flour, for dusting
1 medium egg, for basking
Panko breadcrumbs
4 tbsp Oil
toothpicks, as many as required
salt
pepper

  • Preheat oven to 175 C.
  • Take one half of chicken breast and butterfly it but not till the end (see photo below). Pound to 1 cm thickness. Sprinkle with salt & pepper. Do hold back on the salt if the ham is already very salty. Repeat for the other one.
  • Spread half wedge of cream cheese on top of the chicken breast, lay over the ham, and spread the remaining of the cheese. Carefully roll over and seam the edges off with toothpicks so that your cheese won’t come out. Do for the other.
  • Prepare the flour on one plate, the egg on another and panko on the third one. Dust the rolled chicken into the flour, then the egg and finally the panko.
  • On a non stick pan, heat up the oil over medium fire and carefully lay the rolled chicken. Brown on each side for 2-3 mins.
  • Finish cooking by putting them into the oven and bake for 20 mins, turning half way.
  • Remove the toothpicks before serving!!

Now that I have an oven thermometer, what won’t I give for a meat thermometer.

*Yeap, the french version of sudoku comes with satanic demonic version. Heh! 

2 comments

What do you think?

