Milk Maid


If there’s ever a race “World’s most impatient person of the year” I will be within the top 10. Heck, that’s an understatement. I will be within the top 3! Have always been.


So if waiting for Saturday to come before I can buy the necessary ingredient is Roberta Flack’s Killing Me Softly, waiting for hours for the ricotta to pass through the coffee filters is Eminem’s Till I Collapse. I was on the edge, irritable, couldn’t concentrate on any single things and refusing to be cuddled and coddled. Why he married me, well, that’s a good question.

Before the first hour ended, I have transferred the ricotta cheese twice. From coffee filters to paper towel to finally cotton cloth to strain the liquid. Nothing is fast enough. David said 15 mins, mine even after 1 hour is still very watery.


This is me cleaning the pot with baguette. Half a baguette, standing by the stove, 2 mins top. Lick ’em dry.

This is me trying to be a little smarter.


This is four hours later. Yeah 4 hours, and still pretty runny. Sigh. I should really get those cheese cloth next time. Overall, it wasn’t disastrous, but it wasn’t a ricotta cheese that would fly with flying colours too. But I guess, it’s not too bad.

I changed the recipe a little because the cream sold here comes in a little box of 200ml.

RICH HOMEMADE RICOTTA
(adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

3 1/4 cups whole milk
200 ml cream
1/2 tsp coarse salt
3 tbsp lemon juice

  • Mix all ingredients in a pot and let it slowly boil. Once it boils, remove from heat. Let it sit for 5 mins before pouring over cheese cloth (I used coffee filters, the paper kind).
  • Let the whey sift through for 1-2 hours (depending how firm you want it to be). It is said that the cheese will firm up as it cools, so do not judge by what you have on your cheese cloth.

Last word, do NOT throw away the whey (the liquid coming out of your ricotta). Use it to make chicken soup (to replace chicken stock), to replace water when making bread or cooking rice. You can also use it for sports recovery drink from what I read.

Read Simply Recipe/ David Lebovitz here for different permutation to make ricotta cheese.

Update: Despite the ricotta looking watery, after transferred to a box and stored in the fridge, the ricotta is just perfect: it turns much denser after couple hours.

3 comments

  1. I have tried making homemade ricotta a few times and the texture has never been quite right. Yours looks great though. I think it’s better to be on the softer side with homemade ricotta because you can always strain it more later. Mine was a bit too solid.

What do you think?

