An Open Letter to Joanne of Fifteen Spatulas

(inspired by little Amy who wrote to Roald Dahl when she was only 7 years old, I figure if I want to write to someone famous, it’d better be now.)

RE: Le Petit Carrot Cake

Dearest Joanne,

I would like you to know that I almost never bake a cake that requires 4 big eggs. As much as possible I make banana yogurt muffin or beetroot cake or avocado muffin (hereby named Ebony and Ivory).

So please be informed that it took a lot of ignorance on my part to make the aforementioned cake with not only 1 cup of (white) sugar, but also 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of oil and 3 grotesque-sized-carrots grated. I’ll have you know that my heart palpitated throughout the process to make this michelin-worthy of carrot cake to serve in my Ladies-Who-Mojitos-With-Lunch party.

Oh how I trembled when I was whisking all the ingredients together, praying that they would turn up as sweet as their promises. How I almost fainted if I think of what my nutritionist would say, that not only I make this insanely sinful cake but also feeding H with it. Or how I almost break my arm lifting the heavy-weight bowl while pouring the mixture into my pan. And most of all, how I resort to tuning up the Pachelbel’s Canon in D Major to sooth my erratic heart beat.

But finally, finally oh how I love thy recipe. Despite an accident that shall not named here (besides, you knew about it anyway), the cake turned very very moist and perfect. “Just the kind of cake that I like,” said H while rubbing his tummy. He prefers the cake sans icing, because “the cake is already a star, you don’t need anything else.” My friend A even said that her husband would love me forever for this.

So dear Joanne, thank you very much for yet another great recipe.

From all of us, with love.

JOANNE’S CARROT CAKE
(source Fifteen Spatulas)

2 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon
4 extra large eggs
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
3 cups grated carrots – about 3-4 large carrots
1 cup chopped walnuts

  • Preheat oven to 175 C. Prepare the baking pan and line it with parchment paper.
  • In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.
  • In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla extract till well incorporated and a little foamy on top.
  • Working in batches, slowly add in the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients while continue whisking. Half way through, add in the carrots and walnuts.
  • Switching from a whisk to fork or spatula, continue to whisk until all flour have been added into the wet ingredients. Do not over mix.
  • Pour over the batter into the pre-prepared pan and bake for 45 mins.
  • After minute 45, do a toothpick test and if the toothpick inserted comes out wet, continue to bake till it’s done.

JOANNE’S WHIPPED MASCARPONE ICING
(source Fifteen Spatulas)

454 gr mascarpone
4 tbsp butter, room temperature
2 cup icing sugar (the powder kind)
2 tsp vanilla extract

  • In a bowl, mix all ingredients together and whisk until well incorporated and creamy.

Note:
~ While the cake is still baking and yet to reach 45 mins in the oven, do not do silly things like poking it half way through.
~ Original icing recipe calls for mascarpone, but what I had was ricotta. So I used that instead and worked just fine (at least in terms of taste).
~ I quartered the icing quantity than originally required and was able to do 6 petit cakes just fine.
~ Also if you put the icing closer to the edge, you don’t need as much and the cake isn’t as likely to perform Pisa The Leaning Tower.

2 comments

  1. OMG this was so entertaining to read LOL. Thanks so much! I’m going to share this on my blog and facebook! I agree the carrot cake is good even on its own. My favorite is the bites with the walnuts! I am eating this as we speak (but I made mine cupcakes. Bake in a 350 degree oven to 22-25 minutes to make cupcakes, it makes 24 cupcakes so I usually halve the recipe so I get 12 cupcakes). Cheers!

What do you think?

