The Cake Pops

Where have I been all this time that I have never heard of the Cake pops until I came across Jen’s Party Menu?? So after the great success of Joanne’s Carrot Cake, I used the remnants of the cake and made Cake Pops.


But I realize Cake Pop on a toothpick is not enticing at all. Neither is it glamourous. So I’m back to square one, making truffles of some sorts. I didn’t follow a specific recipe. I did some research on how it’s typically done and made my own as I went about.

CARROT CAKE “POPS”
(makes 22 pops)

2 cups carrot cake crumbles (see note below)
3/4 cup cream cheese icing – in fact, this is the remaining of what I had made for the original carrot cake recipe
120 gr dark chocolate
1 tbsp butter
1-2 tbsp cream

  • In a medium bowl, pour in the carrot cake crumbles and add in the cream cheese icing by the spoonful. Add more icing if the mixture too dry (too crumbly) but not to the point it becomes too wet.
  • Form into balls with about 2.5 cm width and lay it on top a tray that has been lined with parchment paper.
  • (if using lollipops sticks) Stick the pops with lollipops stick, and put into freezer for at least 2 hours.
  • In a bain-marie, melt the chocolate and whisk in the butter and cream until well mixed.
  • Prepare a second tray and lined with parchment paper. Dip the lollipops into the chocolate mixture. Or like I did, dip the pops half way, transfer to baking sheet and cover the top half using spatula. (not the most efficient method, but it worked). Voila!

Note:
~ In a food processor, I crumbled the remnants of my carrot cake and I had about 2 full cups of carrot cake crumbles.
~ It’s important to have a good mixture (between the cake & the icing). Don’t feel obliged to use the same quantity that I did for mine. Add the cream cheese icing by the spoonful and monitor until you think you have a good consistency.
~ We like our pops to be a little bit cold, so I keep mine in the fridge until dessert time!

6 comments

  1. These look great! Cake balls (basically cake pops without the stick) are really popular and yummy too! There’s some really cute and ornate cake balls ideas out there if you google it. As for the lollipop sticks, are you in the US? I’ve seen them at Hobby Lobby, Michaels, and Party City. Oooo my mouth is watering thinking about these again. Maybe it’ll be a weekend baking project 🙂 Thanks for the ping back – I’m glad they came out so well!

      1. I’m so sorry for getting back to you so late! I’ve been in the midst of the whirlwind of wedding planning! thanks for thinking of me.. i’m definitely going to try it. they’re just too cute not to! it looks like you’ve been really busy – i have a lot to catch up on with your blog! 🙂

What do you think?

