How Do I Describe Thee?

Oh boy, oh boy. Poppy seed. How do I describe thee? Like a small explosion in my mouth, I thought to myself. What do you think, I asked H.
“Illegal” said H.
” Oh shut up!!!”
” My wife made an illegal cake.”
” Yes, but it’s not illegal in Angola.”

I think it is one of those things that you either love it or hate it. I admit it’s quite strange to have bubble bursting in my mouth, but the cake turns out very pleasing: moist without too much guilt. I just hope the girls will enjoy it.

ORANGE POPPY SEED CAKE
(from taste.com.au)

1/2 cup milk
1/3 cup poppy seed
180 gr softened unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 eggs
zest of 3 oranges
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
2 1/2 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder

Syrup
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1/4 cup sugar
20 gr unsalted butter
zest of 2 oranges

  • Preheat the oven to 200 C. Grease your cake pan and line with parchment paper.
  • In a small bowl, mix the milk and the poppy seed together. Let it rest for at least 20 mins.
  • In a large bowl, whisk butter, sugar and vanilla until light and pale. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Gently fold in zest, juice and poppyseed mixture.
  • In a medium bowl, sift flour and baking powder. Pour this over the wet mixture and fold in.
  • Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool cake in pan for 5 minutes, then turn out onto a plate. While cake is still warm, pierce holes on top with a toothpick.
  • Meanwhile, in a pan, place syrup ingredients over medium heat and stir until sugar dissolves and butter melts. Turn heat to high and simmer for 2 minutes, then pour the hot syrup over the cake.
Note: After 15 mins of baking, I noticed my cake started to crack. So I lowered the temperature to 180 C for the rest of the time.

(in the midst of munching..)
“Bebe, how do I know there’s no ants in this cake? Everything is dot dot dot..”

What do you think?

