Royce, J’adore

[source ]

When I was still living in Singapore, I didn’t think about Belgium’s chocolate. I thought of Japanese chocolate by the brand Royce. For me it is my favourite chocolate, that and Godiva’s Chocolixir. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted anything that smooth before. And though I felt somewhat cheated by the (so subtle) Champagne flavor, it remains high in my chocolate obsession and occasional indulgence. It makes a nice gift, something to bring when you’re invited to a dinner party.

So the other day, when I was browsing on Japanese recipes, I suddenly remembered this Royce chocolate and found this recipe. In a way, it was so similar to making chocolate truffles, but with a precise cream to chocolate ratio. The weight of chocolate in gram is twice the volume of fresh cream in ml.

I added cognac to my Nama Chocolate, knowing a certain gentleman by the name F (who lends me his camera) will enjoy it.

COGNAC-INFUSED NAMA CHOCOLATE
(source Just One Cookbook)

120 gr dark chocolate + 80 gr milk chocolate (see note below)
100ml whipping cream
3 tbsp cognac or any liquor of your choosing
cocoa powder to coat

  • Lay parchment paper inside a box of your choosing. (see note below)
  • Cut the chocolate bar into smaller pieces. This will help it to break faster.
  • In a pot, heat up the cream until it almost boils (but not yet). Turn off the heat.
  • Add the chocolate into the cream, and stir until they have melted. Add in the cognac.
  • Pour the chocolate into the designated box, smoothen the surface and refrigerate it until firm. I went as far as putting it into freezer.
  • Once it’s firm, using a warm knife, trim the edges and cut the chocolate into cubes. Before you cut each time, wipe the chocolate using a cloth soaked with warm water. This will prevent splintering.
  • Sprinkle cocoa powder, making sure each cube side is covered. Store in fridge until it is served.

Notes:
~ Since I am going to infuse the chocolate with cognac and have it covered in unsweetened cocoa powder, I mix some milk chocolate to reduce the bitterness.
~ The size of the box is important because it will determine the height of the chocolate cube later on. 1-cm is a good height. You can do higher or less, up to you. Just note that it is very decadent, so you want to keep it bite-size.
~ I used 3 tbsp cognac. I started with 1 tbsp, and went progressively from there. To be honest, when I was standing by the stove and tasting it, 3 tbsp didn’t taste a lot. But when I had it for my afternoon tea, it was very strong. Though I don’t think H and F would mind.

4 comments

  1. Hi S! Thank you so much for trying the recipe! My husband just told me he would looove to try cognac infused nama chocolate! I need to make it soon! Thank you for linking back to me! 🙂

  2. That looks pretty good! Thanks for the comment on my blog and I thought I let you know there are already more Laos pics up in an older post…:)

    1. Hey Simone, thanks for visiting. I’m going to make this Lao Ginger chicken this weekend, surprisingly I have everything on hand. I adore Luke Nguyen (I watched him in MasterChef Australia) and thanks to your post, I’m actually gonna get one of his cookbook! 😉
      Will check more of your Laos trip. I didn’t get to cross the border to Laos but I had the best of time in Cambodia.

What do you think?

