Blind Faith Gets You Broken Cake


Non-stick silicon bundt mold. Yeah right, my bum. This is what happens when you trust the labels blindly. The supposedly non-adhesive? As adhesive as a super glue. But all right, at least the cake is perfect.

I was worried with the recipe (in Romanian) and so I lie completely at the mercy of google translator. I halved the recipe, thinking my new hot neon pink bundt mold is on the smaller size, I added a big drop of fleur d’oranger (orange blossom water) and it turned out pretty awesome. Even when the butternut hasn’t fully ripened. Making this, I was reminded of how much I adore McDonald’s garlic chili sauce (we have this in Asia). H said I ate chili with fries, and not the other way around. That’s exactly how I felt about the batter. So much of butternut squash and too little flour. But I was happy to be proven wrong! The cake was really moist, with the right flavor of orange. I was pleased with the texture, the lightness and fluffiness. And the taste. Everything was perfect.

Well, except the non-stick part.

BUTTERNUT SQUASH BUNDT CAKE WITH LEMON GLAZE
(source Just Love Cookin’)

2 small eggs
150 g flour
150 g sugar
250 g grated butternut squash – I used food processor to dice them really small
100 ml oil
Pinch salt
grated zest of 1 big orange 
1 1/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp fleur d’orange (orange blossom water)

250 g icing sugar
3-4 tablespoons lemon juice

  • Butter your bundt mold and dust with flour. Tip off excess flour. The mold is now ready for use.
  • In a bowl, whisk the eggs and sugar till the mixture turns pale. Add oil and whisk some more.
  • In a separate bowl, sift flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Using spoon, slowly fold in the flour into the wet mixture and whisk. Add the fleur d’orange and the orange zest, and stir.
  • Add in the grated butternut squash and stir till well incorporated. The mixture will be very heavy and dense, but it’s okay.
  • Bake in 180 C for 40-45 mins, till it pass the toothpick test. Let the cake cool down before turning it upside down and release the mold.
  • To make the glaze, mix the icing sugar with the lemon juice till you get your desired consistency. Using tea spoon, drop or glaze your bundt cake.

Note:
~ My cake broke 10 mins before it’s supposed to finish, so I lowered to 150 and bake 5 mins longer.
~ I’m a little bit disappointed that my icing is not as snow white as I would have preferred. It was probably too liquid but I refused to add more sugar (i’m watching out my waist, you see), so do watch out and add by the tablespoonful.

What do you think?

