I Carry You In My Heart

“Wooow.. Look at that Palmier..” said H
“Yeah, so inviting, no?..” I replied.
“Yes, but for that price, I can get two in France! No, we have to tahan (hold back).” he said again.
I chuckled. “Are you sure?”
“Yes, I’m sure. We have an objective.” he said, walking away.

This happens pretty often, and not just for Palmier, but also pain au chocolat, croissant, french cheeses, etc. Among his many strengths, self control is one of the most dominant. And up till I marry him, I don’t know how important that trait is. Anyway, making Palmier is not that difficult. Many people rolled their Palmiers, but I realized rolled dough resulted in round curved Palmier, that will not pass His Mighty’s high standard. Palmier looks like a heart, he once said. So I was happy when I found out that folding (instead of rolling) will produce the right shape!

BABY PALMIERS
(yield 28)

1 puff pastry sheet, cut into rectangle
lots sugar
2-3 tsp butter, melted

  • Preheat oven to 175 C.
  • Spread sugar on the rectangle pastry sheet. Turn it around so that the sugar part is now at the bottom.
  • Brush with butter and generously sprinkle with LOTS of sugar. I didn’t put enough sugar that it resulted in plain taste.
  • Now make indentation of 6 equal size columns: start by dividing the width into 2 equal part (lightly mark the dough). Then divide the left side into 3 equal columns (mark the dough), then do the same on the right side.
  • Carefully fold the outer parts inward.
  • Fold again the outer parts inward. Now the two sides will meet in the middle.
  • Fold again into a single column. Put inside fridge and let it cool for at least 15 mins till it hardens a little bit.
  • Slice into 5-8mm width and lay them on a pre-lined baking tray.
  • On each palmier, pinch their bottoms a little bit and separate the top to aid them becoming beautiful heart-shape
  • Brush with more butter and sprinkle with more sugar.
  • Bake for about 10-12 mins or till they turn nicely golden.
Note:
~ After baking and tasting it, if you think it’s not sweet enough just brush the palmiers with melted butter and sprinkle with more sugar. I put a scary amount of sugar and it’s still not sweet enough! Nothing kills your appetite than making it yourself.

“Wow… they really look like the real Palmiers..” said H, grabbing one baby Palmier and put it by his heart. “Look, I carry your heart with me..” and I carry you in my heart.

i carry your heart with me (i carry it in
my heart) i am never without it (anywhere
i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing, my darling)
i fear no fate (for you are my fate, my sweet) i want
no world (for beautiful you are my world, my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you
here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)
– e. e. cummings ~


What do you think?

