Project Fridge Cleaning

I’m cleaning my fridge because it’s almost time to get away from all things Angola.. I don’t stock on food anymore and generally is running out of ideas on what to do. A left me her quinoa and no matter what I make, H is just not a big fan of quinoa. But then I saw this post.


I’m mighty pleased myself to have uncovered this great secret. Do you know how good it tastes? Can you imagine? I think it’s even better than the real fried rice! Hmm.. I would be making this a lot more often in the future.

FRIED RICE QUINOA
(inspired by Life’s Ambrosia)
serve 1 large portion

1/2 cup quinoa
1 cup water – use vegetable stock if necessary.
1 sausage, cooked and sliced
1/2 spring onion, chopped for garnish
handful of broccoli, chopped and blanched
1/2 small yellow onion, diced
1 egg, sunny side up
1 tbsp OO
salt
pepper 

  • Cook the quinoa as per manufacturer’s instruction. Or boil the quinoa with water half covered till all water has been absorbed. Set aside.
  • In a pan, heat up oil and brown the onion till fragrant and turns translucent. Add the blanched broccoli and sausage and stir fry a little.
  • Add in the quinoa and spring onion. Toss well, season with salt & pepper and then plate it.
  • Garnish with 1 sunny side up egg.

Voila! So simple, my fridge is one step cleaner and emptier. And H is a happy man.

You can of course use the ingredients of your choice, like shredded chicken or bell peppers. The idea is to make a fried rice, but instead of using rice, you’re using quinoa. Ha! A lot healthier, i’d think.

What do you think?

