Simply Lemon (Bundt) Cake


A left me a big tub of organic shortening by the brand Spectrum. The newer, healthier sibling of Crisco, from what I read. Hurrah! Thanks A! While I don’t have the time to do a shortening vs butter showdown right now (homework for future), I made this cake with 50% butter and 50% shortening. I can’t tell if it’s lighter/ puffier than when I made it with 100% butter. All I know, H is pretty darn happy that I finally made this cake again.


I made sure I greased my bundt cake mold too this time round.

The simplicity of this cake is just so harrowing. It’s not pretentious to be something that it is not. It is not full of promises. It is safe and reliable. It is like your favourite tee shirt that time and again you wear to sleep when you’ve sworn you’ll throw it out.

H loves this cake. And so is E. That’s why he’s getting half of the bundt cake.

If you’re persuaded to try this recipe, do note that the original recipe from Joy of Baking calls for 9-inch round pan. I had no clue what size my bundt cake mold is. All I can tell is with the same recipe measurement, I get 1 medium bundt cake and 9 muffins.

LEMON-FROSTED LEMON CAKE
(source Joy of Baking)

1 cup (200 gr)  sugar
230 gr butter, room temperature
4 eggs
lemon zest of a large lemon
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cup all purp. flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup lemon juice
1 cup icing sugar 
2-3 tbsp lemon juice

  • Preheat oven to 175C. Butter a 9-inch round pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.
  • In a bowl, whisk butter and sugar until the mixture turns pale. Add in the egg one by one, whisk well before adding the next egg. Add in the vanilla & the lemon zest.
  • In a separate bowl, sift in the flour, baking powder, salt.
  • Add in the dry ingredients into the wet mixture along with lemon juice. Mix only until it’s incorporated.
  • Bake for 30 mins or so, until toothpick comes out clean. Remove from oven and let it cool down.
  • To prepare the icing: mix icing sugar and 2 tbsp of lemon juice, whisk it turns a smooth paste. Add in more lemon juice to your desired thickness. I used about 3 tbsp.

What do you think?

