I’m Drawn.

In my literary world, the most exciting time is when summer is coming in the northern hemisphere and the websites and blogs and newspapers will be buzzing with book recommendations. I like knowing what other people read, and more often than not, I found gems in genres that I don’t normally read. Thanks to Kindle and H, I have access to all those things. Lets just say I have a pretty big monthly budget for books.

I love words. Those that stop you in your tracks.. The words that resurface when you are showering or cooking or doing menial tasks. I love books that make you feel you’re reading for the first time, even though it is your umpteenth time. I also love easy books with real characters. And this book is that.

I didn’t expect to fall in love with the book. I thought it would be a breezy reading while I commute. And with the heavy traffic in Luanda, there are plenty of those opportunities. But this book turns out so much more.

I love it. I stayed up till 3am to finish reading the first one – very unhappy with how it ended hanging over the cliff. Started reading the sequel immediately after and finally finished the sequel last night – very unhappy that she’s done it again, left me hanging over the cliff. In the world where Fifty Shades are the talk of the town (yes, I read them and found them interesting), I found my last read is far more satisfying and rewarding. I found the characters and the stories very real and despite the age gap (i.e. the main characters are still in high school), I found I’m able to connect with them. Emotionally. What I like the most is how I am regularly surprised with the development of the stories. Nothing is as it seems.

The books aren’t perfect. There are parts where I just want them to move along, faster. But like I said, a very gripping read. One that H knows better than to disturb me.

If you enjoy Million Little Pieces by James Frey or The PIlot’s Wife by Anita Shreve, then this might be up your alley.

What do you think?

