One Calm Sunday

When I think of home, I think of my parents. I think of Singapore. I think of Cedele’s Aglio Olio with Prawn and Lime. I remember the many Sundays I went to brunch there with myself and a book. The quiet moments to prepare myself before the week began. Always the same menu, the same drink, the same coffee and the same seat. Near the corner with my back towards the windows with the sun lighting in.

H and I love Singapore. I think H loves Singapore more than I do, and maybe one day we will return to Singapore or somewhere closer to Singapore. But for now, we are at peace with our home in Angola. We are at that equilibrium point where everything make sense and at their right spots.

AGLIO OLIO WITH SHRIMP, CHILI AND LIME
serve 2

3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced with mandoline
spagheti for 2 – I use whole wheat spaghetti
shrimp for 2, de-veined – use prawns if you can
1 tbsp chopped parsley
1 chili, de-seed and mince
juice of half lime, more if needed
1-2 tbsp grounded parmesan
2-3 tbsp EVOO
salt

  • In a pan, heat up the oil and lightly brown the garlic till they turn soft. Transfer to a small bowl to let the garlic infuse the oil further.
  • In a pot, cook the spaghetti al dente as per box’s instruction.
  • Half way cooking the spaghetti, heat up 1 tbsp of the garlic-olive oil and add in the shrimps. Sautee until they are half way cooked, then add the chilli, garlic and the remaining garlic-infused oil.
  • When the spaghetti is cooked, transfer to the pan and toss well with the garlic, chili and shrimps. Add in a little pasta water to help loosen and get a consistent “sauce”.
  • Season with salt, lime juice, parsley and parmesan. Continue to toss and mix until the pasta is coated with oil equally.
  • Transfer to a plate and sprinkle with additional parmesan. Top with parsley or alfalfa sprouts, like I did.

One comment

What do you think?

