Quick Fix

What do you feed your loved ones when you’re in a rush? I’ve been feeding H sandwich almost all day and night this week. I had no time. I left home before he even stepped out of the shower and most evenings, I’m just too tired. But of all sandwich, I think this one hits the right balance, nutrition-wise at least, right?

It’s basically Broccoli, Bacon and Cheese over multigrain bread. I suppose if you serve it over baguette, you can call it Triple B with Cheese.

I also cut the bacon bite-size. I hate the kind of messy sandwich where the ingredients won’t break and you have to pull and pull. And you have no choice but to eat that one ingredient once and left the rest of sandwich incomplete. Am I making sense?

BROCCOLI, BACON AND CHEESE SANDWICH
makes 2

handful of broccoli, sliced half cm thick
4 slices soft cheese – I used Dutch gouda
bacon matchstick, or use 1 bacon slice per sandwich
4 slices of multigrain bread
butter

  • Boil some water in a pot. Add in a pinch of salt and the sliced broccoli. Boil for 2-3 mins. Strain and set aside.
  • Brown the bacon and lay over paper towel.
  • Construct the sandwich: bread, cheese, broccoli, bacon, cheese and finally another slice of bread. Lightly spread butter on the top and most bottom and grill.

You’re set. Careful on the bacon parts. Too much or it’ll be too salty.

What do you think?

