Pots of Pleasures

“Here is a heart. Here is a heart // I made it for you, so take it // battered and braised // grilled and sautéed // just how you like it, like it // You know I live to fill you up ” (Here is a Heart, by Jenny Owen Youngs)

Sunday mornings are my quiet time, my personal time with myself. I get to do my hearts pleasures without any “disturbances”. But boy, am I glad to have H back. When he’s away, suddenly my routine is disrupted. Feeling a little lost. No wifely duties to do, and I can do as I pleased, which is strange when I’m used to have some structures in place.

Anyway, this is one of the easiest dessert you can make. Just chocolate, full cream milk, cream and 1 egg. I also added vanilla essence and cinnamon for fuller flavor. Unlike making chocolate mousse, this is a lot more stable. You don’t have to whip the egg white nor the whip cream.

Ideally, you would freeze this on the freezer and let it out 20 mins before eating. But since mine is a bit “smaller” on the portion size (I have 8 pots instead of 6), this is what it looks like after 15 mins. A bit fudgey and gooey. Good if you like that. Me too, though I wouldn’t mind something a bit firmer like chocolate on room temperature.

The portion control works for us (who are still struggling with the extra kgs from Japan). Unbelievable. We usually have no problem losing weight, but whatever it was we ate in Japan, it doesn’t come off as easily!

CHOCOLATE POTS DE CREME
(adapted from Nigella Lawson’s Nigella Bites via Milk and Honey)
Makes 6

175g dark chocolate (best-quality – minimum 70 percent cocoa solids)
150ml cream
100ml whole milk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg

  • Chop the chocolate. Transfer to a food processor and crush them to smithereens in a food processor with the blade attachment.
  • Heat the cream and milk until just about boiling, then add the vanilla and cinnamon and pour through the funnel over the chocolate. Let stand for 30 seconds. Process for 30 seconds, then crack the egg down the funnel and process for 45 seconds.
  • Pour into 6 small coffee cups and sit them in the refrigerator for 5 hours or overnight. But remember to take them out of the refrigerator a good 20 minutes before you want them to be eaten; the chill interferes with their luscious, silky richness.

Have a good Sunday everyone. We’re heading to some nice restaurant down south to relax and chill out by the pool, enjoying the nice summer sun coming our way.

“No better way that I can see // to spend all the time // while you’re asleep // when holding your hands // inside of mine, mmmm // I wanna be here and nowhere else // .. “

What do you think?

