Twice Baked Biscuits


I don’t know why it took me so long to make some biscotti. When I went to Italy, I didn’t even try some. I guess I thought I wasn’t much of a fan of biscotti (it’s almost always too hard and/or too dry). I didn’t understand what the fuss is all about. But I’m just glad these turned out really well and pretty. I’m surprised that H likes it. And the colours make me think of Christmas too. I’m so ready for joyeux noel.

CRANBERRY PISTACHIO BISCOTTI
adapted from All Recipes
makes about 3 dozen

1/4 C vegetable oil
3/4 C white sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
2 eggs
1 3/4 C all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
2/3 C dried cranberries
1/2 C whole pistachio nuts, chopped

  • Preheat the oven to 150 C.
  • In a large bowl, whisk the oil and sugar until well blended. Mix in the vanilla and almond extracts, then beat in the eggs.
  • In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. Whisk it and gradually stir into egg mixture. Add in the cranberries and nuts, and stir. The dough will be very sticky by this stage.
  • Prepare a bowl filled with tap water. Line the baking tray with parchment paper.
  • Dip your hands into the bowl. Take half of the dough and lay it over the parchment paper, forming a log about 25 cm x 5 cm. Repeat for the other half of dough. Wet your hands when necessary, it will help forming and handling the dough.
  • Bake for 35 minutes, until logs are light brown. Remove from oven, and set aside to cool for 10 minutes. Reduce oven heat to 135 C.
  • Using a bread knife, cut the cooled logs into slices (about 1 cm wide).
  • Lay them on their sides, on parchment paper and bake them again, for 8-10 mins or until cool.
  • Keep on airtight containers and serve with coffee.


Meesh would be pleased to know that I used her almond extract for glorious purposes.

What do you think?

