Be Kind To One Another

My trick to successful cooking and baking is to play a nice song. Often a melancholic song, because then it will set my mood to work slower, a little bit more deliberately, more purposefully. I know, I’m psyching myself here and there’s no base to support my claim. But in my case, it works. I listened to this while making this decadent apple crumble bar.


I wish I could tell you how healthy this thing is. But I’m not going to. At least I can tell you that this is good enough to be shared. Because you’d prefer to get fat together, wouldn’t you? I do.



The recipe includes corn meal as part of making the streusel topping. It’s said to give an extra crunch and crispiness. Maybe it’s true, but I couldn’t detect it. So I suppose if you don’t have polenta grains lying around your pantry, skip it.



You can find all the ingredients here, the tricky part is finding the brown sugar. Unfortunately, white granulated sugar won’t do. I also like using a 23 cm (9 inch) square pan, because it gives the right thickness that I like.

APPLE CRUMBLE BARS (aka DUTCH APPLE PIE BAR)
(adapted from Brown Eyed Baker)
makes 16 square bars or 32 rectangle bars

For the Crust:
226 gr (8 oz) digestive biscuits
1/4 C brown sugar
Pinch salt
85 gr (6 tbsp) unsalted butter, melted

For the Streusel:
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup white sugar
1 tbsp cornmeal
85 gr (6 tbsp) unsalted butter, melted

For the Filling:
About 900 gr (2 pounds, abt. 5 medium sized) Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and sliced half cm thick
28 gr (2 tbsp) butter, melted
1/4 C white sugar
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
Pinch salt

  • Preheat oven to 190 C (375 F). Line a 23cm (9 inch) square tin with parchment paper, allowing excess to hang over pan edges.
  • [Making the Crust] In a food processor with a blade attached, process the biscuits, brown sugar and salt until they have been reduced to fine crumbs, about 15 seconds.
  • Add the melted butter and pulse to incorporate. Press the crumbs into an even layer in the prepared pan and set aside.
  • [Making the Streusel] Whisk together the flour, sugars and cornmeal in a medium bowl. Add the melted butter and toss with a fork until the dry ingredients are all evenly moistened. Set aside.
  • [Making the Filling] Combine the apples, melted butter, sugar, cinnamon and salt in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the apples are soft and the liquid has evaporated, 8-10 minutes.
  • To assemble: Spread the apples over the crust in an even layer and sprinkle with the streusel. Bake until the streusel is brown, 25 to 30 minutes.
  • Cool completely on a wire rack, about 2 hours. Put in fridge if necessary, it’ll be easier to cut.
  • Using the parchment overhangs, lift the bars from the pan and cut into squares/ rectangle bars. Best served cold.


p.s. Don’t ask me why it’s called the Dutch Apple Pie Bar.

What do you think?

