You Complete Me

“Oh, I adore to cook. It makes me feel so mindless in a worthwhile way.” ― Truman Capote, Summer Crossing
Burger Patty
I think I’ve found my ultimate burger patty. This is really, really good. I love the smell of my kitchen as soon as I fry the seasoning. Call me crazy, but I also add the Black Hawaiian salt in this last batch. I mean, we eat red meat only occasionally and I hardly buy chunky red meat, so when else am I going to use this gourmet salt?

Black Hawaiian Sea SaltDon’t tell H but I’ve made this burger patty with Fleur de Sel de Guerande, what the chefs called caviar of the salt. I don’t have a discerning palate, I can’t tell the difference. I can tell if it’s not salty enough or too salty, but the earthy tone from the Black Hawaiian Salt or the distinct aroma and flavor of Fleur de Sel from Guerande? I fake it. Unless I taste them one after another, I won’t be able to tell the difference.

Anyway, use whatever salt you wish. Regular table salts are saltier than sea salts. Some sea salts are actually finishing salt (like Fleur de Sel), hence added after cooking and taste much lighter and mellower than your regular salts. Black Hawaiian Salt is used as marinating and finishing salt. Hold back the quantity of the salt (do a couple to try) if you’re eating it on its own. This recipe is designed for burgers.

Best Burger PattyTHE ULTIMATE BURGER PATTY
(source: from Pete Evan’s My Grill via Milk and Honey)
makes about 15 meatballs (35 gr each) or 4-6 burger patties

1 tbsp Spanish sweet paprika
2 tsp ground cumin – I use 1 tsp cumin seeds, pounded
2 tsp ground coriander
60 ml olive oil
500 gr coarsely ground pork shoulder – I use regular minced beef
1/4 tsp chilli powder, or adjust to your taste
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp sea salt flakes
2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 egg
1/2 cup (64 gr) breadcrumbs

  • Gently cook the paprika, cumin, coriander and oil in a heavy-based frying pan over a medium heat for about 1-2 minutes.
  • Put the meat, chilli powder, garlic, salt, pepper, egg and breadcrumbs into a large bowl. Add the cooled oil and spice mix and knead for about 2 minutes until well combined.
  • Preheat a barbecue hotplate or grill pan to medium. Form the mixture into patties and cook for few minutes on each side until meat is cooked through.
  • Serve immediately.

If you’re worried that your patty is still uncooked in the middle or you like to have melting cheese right on top of the burger, add in a little water (1-2 tbsp) to the grill pan, not the meat, and cover. Let the steam cook it through.

One comment

What do you think?

