My Current Obsession: Cardamom

CardamomAs any other cooks, I collect herbs and spices. I have several racks just full of them: in ziplocks, in bottles or jars. My favourite spices are lemongrass and cumin seeds. But I use cumin seeds far more regularly. I love the smell of them cracking in the hot oil. I love the whiff they emanate when I pound them in my mortar and pestle. I love adding them in kofta briouats and curries and burgers. But then Meesh allowed me to raid her pantry and she broke the chains that I didn’t know exist.

I rarely cook with cardamoms. I have cardamom pods primarily to prepare H’s beloved butter chicken and on the cold days when I’m dreaming of Chai Masala. But I have never used this ingredient for anything else. Until I saw the cute lil’ jar of ground cardamom. And suddenly, I am on a hunt for a good cardamom recipe.

The first one was a roast chicken with yogurt-cardamom marinade. I was skeptical about it at first but I’m so happy to be proven wrong (I need to make this again so I can tell you guys about it). Then just because it’s friday, I’m making Pancake Friday with cardamom and oatmeal.

Cardamom Oatmeal Pancake 02

I really enjoy this “spicy” pancake. It’s shockingly different but in a good way. The floral note from cardamom is just amazing, I feel like drinking Chai Masala in a Pancake. And the softness from the oatmeal is addictive.

Obviously this isn’t for every tongue. H doesn’t really appreciate this spiciness in his breakfast platter. He doesn’t appreciate the softness either. On top of that, this oatmeal pancake is very filling. So make them smallish, not your regular pancake size. Else …

“I only had two pancakes and I still have not tried the one with Nutella. How, mon coeur? This pancake is ruining my system..”

Anyway, I think if you enjoy Chai Masala and South Asian/ Moroccan/ Turkish dishes, do give this a try. Just once, give your palette a revelatory experiment. Just call this: an education.

Cardamom Oatmeal Pancake 2

CARDAMOM OATMEAL PANCAKES
(source: The Kitchn)
Makes 10-14 pancakes

1 C (235 gr) all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 C (235 ml) milk or buttermilk
1 C cooked oatmeal- see note below
1 egg
butter for the skillet

  • Preheat oven to 95 C (or 200°F). Warm a large skillet over a medium flame.
  • Combine the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Separately, whisk together the egg with the milk until foamy. Using a wooden spoon, mash the oatmeal into the milk and egg mixture until incorporated.
  • Slowly fold the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until just combined. This batter is a little thicker than a straightforward pancake batter. However, if it’s too thick, you can thin it out with a little more milk in 1 tablespoon increments. Melt about 1/2 tablespoon butter in the skillet. Using a 1/4 cup measure, add the pancake batter in batches of about three.
  • Cook the pancakes until bubbles begin to form on the surface, about 4-5 minutes. Flip, and cook for another 2-3 minutes. Repeat with remaining batter, re-greasing skillet as needed. Place the cooked pancakes on a plate and keep warm in the oven.
  • Top with maple syrup and enjoy!

Note: To yield 1 C cooked oatmeal, heat up 2/3 C of milk in a small sauce pan until it almost boils. Add in 2/3 C instant oatmeal and stir for 2-3 mins. Turn off the fire, cover the saucepan and let it rest for few minutes before using.

What do you think?

