A Warm Puppy Kinda Day

Amidst watching Armstrong’s confession to Oprah, the hostage situation in Algeria and the freak flood in Jakarta, we celebrate the end of a good week. After 3 months and a week, my visa is finally processed and I have my passport back. We booked our flights and called my parents-in-law who asked, to H’s dismay, what I, me, moi want to eat. Ahem. H also had a good annual review that calls for a celebration. We had a nice evening with P who was in town for business trip and as usual, he comes bringing all the things I miss from my Singapore life (even a can of tuna that I used to stuff myself during my uni days). H and I celebrate all these doing something new, something we’ve never done before.

Baked Lime Tortilla Chips with Salsa
When E gave me a bag of corn tortillas and a block of velveeta, I immediately know what I’m going to do with them. But for all our love of nachos and chips, this is going to be a healthier version, keeping our weight under control at least until the holiday comes. My mother in law has been telling us what things she got and hasn’t cooked, waiting for our arrival.

BAKED LIME TORTILLA CHIPS WITH SALSA
(adapted from Lauren’s Latest)
serve 2 as appetizer

For the salsa:
3 whole, peeled tomatoes from a can
1 small clove garlic
1 tbsp diced red onion
1 tsp Jalapeno slices – I used Old El Paso
couple of cilantro leaves
half lime juice
pinch of salt
pinch of black pepper
1/4 tsp sugar
pinch of cumin seeds, pounded

For the chips:
5 corn tortillas, sliced into wedges
1 tbsp olive oil
cooking spray
1/4 tsp salt
zest of half lime

  • Preheat oven to 175 C (350 F).
  • Place the tortillas into a bowl and add olive oil. Carefully toss. In a small mixing bowl, mix the salt & the lime. Add the lime salt to the tortillas and toss some more.
  • Spray the baking tray with some cooking spray and carefully lay the tortillas onto it. Spray a little bit more with cooking spray. Bake for 10 mins or till brown and crispy.
  • Make the salsa: in a food processor combine all ingredients and pulse until you reach your desired texture. Ideally with couple tomato chunks. Taste and adjust seasonings.
  • Serve immediately with warm tortilla chips.

Our thoughts and prayers are with the people in Amenas and their families and the people of Jakarta.

What do you think?

