I Feel Invincible

So! It has just dawned on me this fascination about tablet. I mean, I just finally understand the whole shebangs. It took us a long, long time to jump into the bandwagon with the rest of the world, we don’t need fancy gadgets here. But when we finally bought Asus, I couldn’t stop downloading the various apps there is. Like water intake monitor, budget and expenses, and the exercise apps. 5 mins here, 10 mins there, it was great especially I’m slowly getting off the couch. The cooking apps wasn’t so great, it’s okay. But H and I bond over the logo quiz and une Famille d’Or, so I guess it was worth it.

Anyway, we’ve been craving for simple dishes, like pasta salad or simple spaghetti etc. H particularly has been craving for ravioli but the horse meat controversy is putting him off. So I tried making ravioli using wonton skins.

PortobelloSauteed MushroomRavioli Fillings Ravioli with Wonton Skin
Ravioli Mushroom 2

Mushroom Ravioli 3 Mushroom Ravioli 4

We both think it was pretty awesome. It’s a good change. And I never thought it would be that simple. Wonton skin isn’t the same as ravioli skin, it’s thinner for one, and doesn’t have the same bite. But all in all, I would not hesitate to do this again.

MUSHROOM WONTON RAVIOLI WITH PINE NUTS, FETA & MASCARPONE
(serve 2)
makes 10-11 wonton ravioli

3 large fresh portobello (abt 125 gr), roughly chopped
2 garlic clove, minced
1 tbsp Olive oil
1 little knob of butter
1 tsp chopped parsley
salt
black pepper
1 tbsp pine nuts, toasted & roughly chopped
2 tbsp mascarpone
a chunk of feta, about 3×3 cm – add more if needed
1 egg yolk
half packet of wonton skin, about 20-22 skins
grated parmesan

  • In a skillet, heat up the olive oil and the butter. Add the garlic till fragrant, then add the mushroom.
  • Sauteed about 2 mins, till mushroom turns soft. Then add the parsley and season with salt & pepper. Transfer to a mixing bowl.
  • Add the pine nuts and the cheeses. Taste and adjust if needed, before adding the egg yolk. Mix well and store in fridge until ready to use.
  • Lay 1 heaping tsp of filling in the middle of the wonton skin. Dab the edges of the wonton skin with water. Be generous with the water but don’t drench the skin with water. Press another skin on top of it and seal firmly.
  • To cook: in a pot, boil a lot of water (2/3 filled). Once boiling, carefully drop 3-4 (or 5) ravioli, depending the size of your pot. Boil for 2 mins before carefully fish them out.
  • On a plate, lightly greased with olive oil, plate the raviolis. Garnish with additional olive oil, grated parmesan and freshly cracked black pepper. Serve immediately.

At the beginning while browsing for ravioli filling, I challenge the idea of adding egg yolk. For what? I mean, once the filling is chilled, they are pretty firm. But recipes after recipes of ravioli fillings, there always is the egg yolk. But as soon as I sliced the cooked ravioli, I understand why. It keeps the filling together while being cooked. Ha! I cannot skimp.

3 comments

  1. These look yummy! I’ve used wonton skins for faux* ravioli. (*my italian descent requires a disclaimer of some sort!) They were a nice alternative and a time saver. I only used on skin per ravioli, folding then into triangles.

    We favor ravioli served in homemade broth (turkey is most flavorful). Red sauce seems to overpower the delicate flavors. I like the use of olive oil and cheese as an alternative. I will need to try that next time. 🙂

  2. Great minds think alike! I just made a crab ravioli using wonton skins as well last week 🙂 They actually came out much better than I thought, and it was sooo easy and fast. I’ll have to try this recipe too!

What do you think?

