My Idyllic Sunday

I didn’t think much about this song when I first heard it, but when I heard it again for the second time, I became really curious about the timing the drummer when he first entered the song. The drummer was so off tangent from the base rhythm that at for a split second, I felt he was going to ruin it all, until finally the two blended with sinew. Ahh, be still my heart. I don’t know why but these kinds of things irk and fascinate me.

Olive Ham Cheese Cake 4
Anyway, I’m trying to broaden my repertoire a little bit, by using an ingredient that I never use before: green olive. So I decided to make this savory loaf of olive, ham & cheese. I was skeptical initially, because my salt tolerant is pretty low and green olives are way up there in terms of saltiness. I much prefer the black olives, but I haven’t been able to find pitted black olives. I’m pretty sure they exist, just not in my world here. And then the combination of ham (I actually used chorizo) and cheese and the olives – seems like going to be super duper salty.

Olive Ham Cheese Cake 02 Olive Ham Cheese Cake 01
Well, the result is pretty interesting. Yes the olives are too salty for me but the bread/cake can deter a little bit. I think it’s also a good call to use a mild flavor cheese (in my case, Swiss’ tete de moine). One should not be surprised how moist the loaf is given the quantity of oil used, borderline sinful.. but I am extremely pleased with how it turned out. I’m very happy with the batter, almost like a pancake batter fortified with baking powder, that I can easily swap the olives for ingredients that I like, such as .. edamame.

Olive Ham Cheese Cake 7

I halved the recipe to get the loaf in the picture.

SAVORY LOAF: OLIVE, HAM & CHEESE
adapted from Marmiton

250 gr all purpose flour – or use self-raising flour and omit the baking powder & salt below
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

4 eggs
400 ml milk
400 ml peanut oil, or vegetable oil
ground black pepper

150 gr mild flavor cheese, like emmental, gruyere – I used tete de moine

1-2 tbsp flour
100 gr pitted green olives
100 gr diced ham or (soft) chorizo

  • Preheat oven to 180 C (356 F). Grease the bread tin and dust with flour. If you’re using aluminum tin like me, you can skip this.
  • In a large bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder and salt.
  • Slowly add the milk, oil and eggs. Stir to create a consistent paste.
  • Add in the cheese, and mix well.
  • In a medium mixing bowl, add in the flour and add the olives and ham. Toss to let flour coat the olives and ham. This is so that the flour will hold the olives & ham from sinking to the bottom during baking.
  • Add the olives and ham to the flour-milk-oil mixture and just stir enough to coat.
  • Transfer the mixture to pan and bake for 1 hour*.

* I halved the recipe and my loaf was perfectly baked after 35 mins. The original recipe calls baking for one hour and 10 mins.

2 comments

What do you think?

