If I Can Make One Fluffy Omelet

.. then I shall not live in vain.

H has just returned from his work trip in Amsterdam, so obviously he has to remind me daily how he was pampered with omelet and fresh orange juice every day. I’m not interested in waking up early to make him fresh orange juice, but I can certainly improve my omelet.

So after some research (do you know there are extensive articles written on the perfect omelet???), I soon note few common things: thou shalt not brown thy omelet (duh!). Thou shalt cook thy omelet over low-medium heat. Thou shalt wait until butter has sizzled before pouring in. And it seems the key to get a fluffy omelet is to whisk it well, so well till the eggs are foamy and frothy. Mimi Thorisson even recommends 3-4 mins of whisking.

Egg collage
I wouldn’t go as far as separating the egg whites and the yolks, adding pinch of salt and beating the egg whites till soft peaks before adding the yolks.. It’s just omelet and obviously I don’t love my husband that much, but you’re welcome to do that if it’s your thing.

The debate usually happens on the egg mixture, should I add water/ milk/ cream to the eggs? Science claims that most of the liquid, upon touching the hot pan, will turn into steam, hence creating a fluffier omelet. But my problems with adding liquid usually lie in cooking time (by the time I need to serve, my eggs are still wet) and color (Angolan eggs are so pale). So I stick to my usual eggs-only mixture. If you prefer to, add 1 tbsp to every two eggs.

Egg omelet Tarragon Omelet

I’m super pleased with the result. I can notice the difference when I beat my eggs till fluffy and frothy (3 mins!). H is happy and so am I. I added a pinch of tarragon leaves on this omelet, because really, who doesn’t covet Mimi Thorisson’s kitchen and fabulous home in Medoc?

EVERY DAY OMELET
(adapted from Mimi Thorisson)

2 eggs (use 3 eggs if serving as main meal)
about 1 tbsp butter
pinch of salt
pinch of black pepper
pinch of dried tarragon leaves
your favourite cheese, grated or thinly sliced

  • In a bowl, whisk your eggs together until frothy and foamy or whisk for 3-4 mins. Add a pinch of salt, black pepper and tarragon leaves and whisk few more times.
  • Over low-medium heat, heat up the butter till sizzling then pour the eggs.
  • Immediately, using spatula move your eggs around in a circular motion for few seconds.
  • Grate the cheese in the middle of your omelette (or use thinly sliced cheese). Once the cheese melt, start folding the egg. Flip one time and cook few seconds more. Serve immediately.
What do you think?

