Reason To Smile

Chocolate Batter 03
Cooking is getting more and more difficult, if not boring. I hate to waste and my objective is to clean out my pantry without buying new things. We came to Angola with 4 suitcases between the two of us and the goal is to leave with approximately the same number. Most of the stuff comes with the apartment anyway, so my possessions are really just the things inside my pantry. The question becomes how to recycle the ingredients I’ve amassed without cooking the same thing every other day.

Chocolate Pancake 01
I kept the recipe as original as possible, so I didn’t know how it would be if I use my usual pancake batter mixed with cocoa powder. But I didn’t like how my batter wasn’t very chocolate at the beginning (could be the quality of my cocoa here), so I added an extra tbsp to get the shade I want.

Chocolate Pancake 02
Obviously my favourite part is the gooey melted chocolate. The idea to add actual chocolate is brilliant and I’m forever indebted.


CHOCOLATE PANCAKE
(source: Butter With A Side Of Bread)
makes 6-8 pancakes

1 C all purpose flour
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp salt
1 egg
1 C milk
2 tbsp vegetable oil
3 tbsp cocoa powder – I added 1 tbsp more for color
2 tbsp mini chocolate chips
cooking spray

  • Mix all ingredients in a medium-large bowl.
  • Heat up a non stick pan in a low to medium heat. Coat the pan with cooking spray and drop about 1/4 C of batter (about 4-5 tbsp).
  • Cook for 3-4 mins on one side before gently flipping and cook additional 2 mins. Serve immediately with whip cream or your fave jams, reheated.

Note: Because of the quantity of baking powder, this is one of those batters where slow and steady is crucial to get a nicely done pancake. Too much heat too soon, it will burn the bottom before the pancake is ready to be flipped.

Have a good Sunday, folks!

 

What do you think?

