What’s In Your Bowl?

Lentil Coconut Soup

My collection of lentil recipe has been pretty non existent. Lentil stew (French & Indian), lentil salad, lentil burger/meat ball. That’s it. Boring. I’ve bookmarked this particular recipe for a very long time. Few days ago while sorting and deleting my growing bookmarks of recipes, I toldl myself either I delete this bookmark or I make it. Just get on with it already!!

To say the least, this Coconut Lentil Soup was pretty friggin’ awesome. I didn’t create this recipe, but boy it was hard not to pat myself on the back. I can understand now why someone would want to sell his birthright over a bowl of soup.

COCONUT LENTIL SOUP
(adapted from 101 Cookbooks)
makes 2-3

1 C yellow split lentil (chana dal)
3 C water
1 small carrot, dice small
1 tbsp fresh peeled and minced ginger
1 tbsp curry powder
1 tbsp butter
4 green onions (scallions), thinly sliced
2 tbsp tomato paste
1 can coconut milk
2 tbsp plain yogurt
Salt

  • Rinse the lentils. Place them in a medium pot, cover with water and bring to boil.
  • Reduce heat to a simmer and add the carrot and 1/4 of the ginger. Cover and simmer for about 30 mins or until the lentils are soft.
  • In the meantime, in a small skillet, over low heat, toast the curry powder until it is fragrant. Set aside.
  • Turn up the heat to medium and add butter. Once melted, add half the spring onions and remaining of the ginger. Saute for 2 mins before adding tomato paste. Saute for 1-2 mins more.
  • Add the toasted curry powder to the tomato paste mixture, mix well.
  • Add the curry-tomato paste into the lentils, together with the coconut milk & yogurt. Stir well. Let it simmer, uncovered, to your desired thickness.
  • Taste and adjust the seasoning. Serve with additional spring onion and a dollop of yogurt.

I didn’t have raisins, but I bet it would taste even better.

What do you think?

