Most Loves Don’t Last, But Some Do

Capers Pizza
Capers Pizza 02
Capers Pizza

“Yeah, everybody’s got a talent. I can memorize things. And you can ..?”
“Um, I know a lot of people’s last words.” It was an indulgence, learning last words. Other people had chocolate, I had dying declarations.
“Example?”
“I like Henrik Ibsen’s. He was a playwright.” I knew a lot about Ibsen, but I’d never read any of his plays. I didn’t like reading plays. I liked reading biographies.
“Yeah, I know who he was,” said Chip.
“Right, well, he’d been sick for a while and his nurse said to him, ‘You seem to be feeling better this morning’ and Ibsen looked at her and said ‘On the contrary,’ and then he died.”

– Looking For Alaska, by John Green

Well, I have a lot of indulgences. Like buying every single ingredient I can find even if eventually only to be used in one particular recipe. Caper is a good example. I still have three quarter of the jar full and I need to use them fast. H will pick them out if he sees them whole, but when I hide them like this, no bribery and choking needed. If you, too, don’t particularly care for capers, here’s another recipe on just sun dried tomatoes and lots of cheese.

MINI PIZZA WITH RED PESTO & CAPERS
(inspired by Kayotic Kitchen)
makes at least 20 mini pizzas

1 Puff Pastry sheet, thawed
1 recipe of Pesto Rosso, below – there’ll be plenty of extra but doesn’t seem worth the effort to make only half recipe
shallots (abt. half small red onions), chopped
3-4 tsp capers, chopped
2 small tomatoes, diced
1.5 tsp dried thyme
Parmesan, grated

  • Preheat oven to 175 C.
  • Dust your work space, unroll the puff pastry and gently flatten with a rolling pin. Using a cookie cutter (or a glass, etc), cut off the circles. I used 5.5 cm diameter cookie cutter.
  • Lay the cut puff pastry on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Pierce the dough with fork.
  • Drop generous amount (abt 1/2 tsp) of pesto rosso. Add capers, shallots and tomatoes. Sprinkle with thyme and lots of parmesan.
  • Bake for 15-20 mins till they are baked.

Pesto Rosso

PESTO ROSSO (or Red Pesto)
(source: Kayotic Kitchen)

2 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
half of medium onion, diced
1 large clove garlic, sliced
5 sun dried tomatoes, chopped
4 tbsp oil from sun dried tomatoes

  • In a pan, with a little oil, saute the onion and garlic till soft and fragrant.
  • Transfer to a food processor with the rest of ingredients. Blitz until you get a consistent paste.
One comment

What do you think?

