Pasta Of My Day

I can almost foresee my menu for the next 7 days, it will be pasta, pasta and pasta. It’s something quick and I can prepare in the morning to be reheated when H returns for lunch. Not to mention, I have few more packets to finish. Have I told you I “collect” pasta shapes?

Anyway, those who cook for me (my mom, my dad, my mother in law, my husband) know my predilection towards acidity. I am forever adding lemon and tabasco to a dish that tastes perfect to everyone but me. I’ve been told off by the Italians not once, not twice, but five times that I ruined their dishes (twice in Singapore at a separate restaurants, once in Sienna, once in Rome and once in Toulouse). I blame this on my grandma who raised my mom, then me, beside a big pot of Sayur Asem, an Indonesian tamarind-base (spicy) vegetable soup.

Lemon Pepper Mafalda Capers Chicken

So for me, the hero of this dish is the lemon. Not from the lemon juice, but from sauteing the lemon zest together with garlic. I also like that the cream-broth mixture tones down the saltiness of the capers. H still picks out his capers, but when the dish is this delicious and simple, I don’t mind at all. Besides, my capers are going down, down and down.
LEMON PEPPER MAFALDA WITH CAPERS & CHICKEN
(inspired by The Kitchn)
serve 2

Mafalda enough for 2
2 garlic cloves, minced
Zest of one lemon – gently run the lemon against the grater once and in one direction, turn the lemon and repeat.
2 tbsp olive oil
100 gr boiled, shredded chicken breast
3/4 C chicken broth – I used a left over chicken soup, filtered. Extra awesome.
1/3 C cream
2 tsp capers, drained
1/2 tsp black pepper – start from 1/4 tsp and add more towards the end.
pinch of sea salt, optional

  • Cook your pasta till al dente.
  • In a pan, heat up 2 tbsp olive oil over medium heat and add the garlic and lemon zest. Saute until the garlic just begin to brown.
  • Add the shredded chicken and the black pepper. Toss few times before adding the chicken broth and turn up the heat. Cook until the broth has reduced by half.
  • Turn down the heat back to medium and add the cream and capers. Stir few times and cook to your desired thickness/ creaminess.
  • Drain the pasta and put into the pan. Toss and adjust seasoning: more lemon zest? pepper? pinch of sea salt? Plate, garnish with a dash of black pepper and serve immediately.

Lemon Black Pepper Chicken Capers

What do you think?

