Because I Am

“Bees do have a smell, you know, and if they don’t, they should, for their feet are dusted with spices from a million flowers.”

― Ray Bradbury, Dandelion Wine

I want to swim. I want to run. I want to live underwater. I want to laugh with a glass on my hand. I want to hug. I want to give kisses. I want to cuddle. I want to run my fingers through his hair. I want to go picnic. I want to lie on the grass. I want to sip mojito and eat acras. I want to look up and close my eyes.

I want to enjoy my first summer.

Simple Sponge Cake

Fresh berries are plentiful and somehow, I’m drawn to make this simple sponge cake with plenty of raspberry jam in the middle. The best raspberry jam.

This cake and I, we don’t have games to play. We don’t have  appearances to keep up. We don’t have to clothe ourselves in so many layers that one cannot tell when the icing ends and the real cake begins. This cakes promises nothing and yet everything that is genuine.

If one day, you come to my home, sit at my table and I serve you this, let it be known that it means I hold you dear with all my heart and I promise to let you be you. Because I am.

KYRA’S HOT MILK SPONGE CAKE
(source: Bake! by Nick Malgieri)
make two 23-cm round layers

55 gr unsalted butter
120 ml full fat milk
195 gr plain flour
2 tsp baking powder3 medium eggs, room temperature
1/4 tsp salt
225 white sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

  • Butter two round tins and lined the bottom with parchment paper. Butter the sides as well, else they’ll stick a little (like mine).
  • Preheat oven to 180 C and set the rack in the center.
  • Combine the milk & butter in a small saucepan, cook over low heat until butter is completely melted. Set aside.
  • Stir the flour & baking powder together, sift onto a piece of baking paper (or another medium bowl).
  • In the bowl of an electric mixer, start whisking the eggs by hand, then whisk in the salt.
  • Add in the sugar in a stream, then whisk in vanilla. Place on the mixer and let the machine whisk on medium high speed until very light, about 3 mins.
  • Turn off the machine. Switching to mixing by hand, add in the warm mixture. Add the flour in 4 additions, whisking gently in between.
  • Evenly divide the batter between the prepared tins and smooth the tops.
  • Bake the layers until they fill firm when touched in the centre with a fingertip, about 20 mins. Rotate if necessary.
  • Gently unmold and immediately re-invert back with the paper on the bottom. Cool completely.
  • Peel off the paper at the bottom. Choose a good side (if applies). Slather with good jam of your choice, and top with the other layer. Dust with icing sugar.
4 comments

What do you think?

