I Snack. We Snack.

Dill Pakora

When I was hunting for chickpea flour to make Socca, I knew right away the next thing I was going to make is pakora, my all time favorite Indian snack especially Gobi Pakora (with cauliflower). I know it’s not the right thing to make since my throat has been itchy the past few days, but if there’s a thing I couldn’t resist, it’s deep fried snacks.

Dill Pakora 3

Of course, pakora is not complete until you make the chutney. But I’m going to confess, mine didn’t taste as great. I suspect it’s because I over-pounded the herbs, turning it a little bitter. I need to get a private lesson with M’s sister.

Dill Pakora 4

I was a little worried since H isn’t really big on dill and has never eaten a pakora before. But when he continuously asked if I was done with the photos and if he could eat more, I know my husband adores the snack as much as I do.

DILL PAKORA
(adapted from Veg Recipes of India)
serve 3-4, as snacks

1 C chickpea flour
3/4 C chopped fresh dill – about 1 large packet of dill, chopped
3/4 C water
1 small onion, diced small
2 large Thai bird’s eye chili, deseed and thinly sliced
a hearty grind of black pepper
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp garam masala
1 tbsp grilled sesame seeds

oil, for frying

  • In a small-medium mixing bowl, mix all ingredients to make a consistent paste.
  • In a wok, heat up some oil enough for deep frying. Gently drop a tablespoonful of mixture.
  • Fry until all sides are golden brown brown.
  • Serve while still warm, with some chutney (my fave is mint coriander chutney) or some mayo (H’s preference!).
What do you think?

