Not Long On The Plate

Fattoush

It has been really hot, at times hitting 35 C. I don’t know how the kids can find the energy to run around and play. I just want to lie down and melt. Even the grass is really warm and so is my picnic mat.  I live near the forest, my complex has lots of big trees, which supposedly make the area cooler than in the city but truthfully? It doesn’t feel any different. It’s just HOT.

So when I come home, I want to eat something cooling, something light, something quick, because I’m fainting. And fattoush has been the answer for me. It is especially nice when I step on the weighing machine too!

The key ingredient to fattoush is probably the sumac, but between you and me, if you’re desperate, you can skip the sumac. I am not going to do a proper recipe write up, because.. it’s way too simple. Add cheese if you wish, throw in some nuts or chickpeas to make it heartier.

FATTOUSH
(original recipe: Taste.com.au)
serve 1

Cherry tomatoes
Cucumber, de-seed if you’re preparing this the night before, chopped
Bell peppers – preferably yellow or red (because they are sweeter than the green ones), chopped
radish, thinly sliced
green onions, thinly sliced
mint, chopped
coriander, chopped
Pita bread – toasted or deep fried

seasoning:
1 tsp sumac
1-2 tsp lemon juice
3 tbsp Olive Oil

optional:
za’atarhome made or just buy over the counter

  • Chop all the ingredients, making sure you have equal quantity of the tomatoes, cucumber, bell peppers and radish.
  • Add the green onions and the chopped herbs. Adjust as needed.
  • Mix the seasoning, taste & adjust.
  • Toast the pita bread with a slab of butter then sprinkle with za’atar.

The best part is I can prepare this the night before and when I come home, I have them immediately off the fridge. This is da bomb!

What do you think?

