Hello World

I hope life has been treating you well. It’s been awhile since I last wrote my thoughts down (kitchen related or not) and now that all exams are officially over and the partying done, I feel a little bit alone.. The past few months I had been going to school, attending lectures and immersing myself in the french education system, going to university canteens, studying at libraries, etc. I feel ashamed that I know more about France than my own country. Yes, my french is getting so much better 😉

Sainte Genevieve Library 3

The economy is still bad, Europe seems to be the worst hit region from the 2008 crisis. While the US economy appears to be picking up, the french politicians are still in denial. Any little signs of stabilization will be touted as the turning point, so much that the Labor Minister is nicknamed Mr Curve, with him referring any upward number of employment (as small as 0.1%) as the curve up to recovery. Unfortunately the following month, the number was again downward..

Other than that, H and I are preparing for the arrival of our little baby Boo this spring. Whoever says life is not about the end destination but the journey obviously has never been pregnant and lived inside a toilet! That’s also why I haven’t been blogging. Any reference to food simply repels me and only last week that I started cooking again regularly. The person who has been trying out new recipes every other day? She doesn’t exist anymore. This person inhabiting my body now has been going back to simpler, fuss free recipes. One that doesn’t tip the scale much, because she was also advised to stay within a certain weight (my doc will scold me when I put on too much!)

There seems to be a whole lot of things to prepare for such a little person. But I’m grateful for the network of other (anglophone) mommies here, helping me to navigate the myriad of french hospital system, the panic of booking a hospital bed, to be done as soon as you know you’re pregnant (which hospital? GP/ mid wives / doula/ obgyn? English speaking??).

Anyway, I am slowly warming up to the idea of having Boo. I think at the beginning, I was miserable and too focused on what I was losing in the process. Wanting is one thing, but actually having the course of your life turned is quite another thing.

2014 will be the year of doing many, many things for the first time.. of learning and adjusting. May God bless us all.

What do you think?

