The Part of My Becoming

There is a certain part of all of us that lives outside of time
– Milan Kundera

I forgot how therapeutic cooking is. Chopping, pounding, stirring, tossing.. the perfect mindless activity while I self-doubt my parenting method. Let him be. No, he doesn’t understand yet. Let him cry a little. 30 mins is not a little! Besides, he’ll outlast you. Ahh, the never ending argument. Our little guy is headstrong. When he wants something, he will fight for it till he gets it. And when we finally give in, he will let you know he wasn’t happy that you did not just succumb since the beginning. Daddy’s attempt to show who the boss is met with equal fervor. And daddy’s is not winning…

Lentil & Brussel Sprouts Salad 2

Brussel sprouts are a vegetable that only now I taste and discover. Its bad rep goes for a mile, H doesn’t really like them. Then in my attempt to convert him, I bought a kilo of it. One you-must-be-joking kilo of brussel sprouts. Hey, I bought 200 grams of it (about 10) and ate in one sitting. So I figured one kilo between the two of us is possible. Until H informed me that he’s gonna be away for a week. How convenient.

Anyway, this is a recipe from Happy Yolks that I barely modify. I found the salad to be delicious and filling. I would certainly make this again when H is back home. The only thing I would do differently is probably cut the pears thicker. Comice Pears are in season and they are really delicious. When I cut them thinly like I did here, the sweet juicy taste is overshadowed by the dressing, which is a shame. That or add them to the bowl last.

LENTIL & BRUSSEL SPROUTS SALAD WITH COMICE PEARS
Slightly adapted from Happy Yolk
serve 1

2/3 C cooked green lentils
Handful of brussel sprouts (about 6-7), thinly sliced
knob of butter
1/4 to 1/3 comice pears (mine was large), sliced not too thinly
handful of peanuts (or nuts of your choice)

1/2 tsp dijon mustard
1 tsp honey
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
2 tbsp olive oil

sea salt flakes

  • In a pan, heat up a knob of butter and lightly sautee the brussel sprouts, about 2-3 mins, till cooked.
  • Make the dressing and adjust to your taste.
  • In a bowl, mix the cooked lentils, brussel sprouts and peanuts. Pour over the dressing. Sprinkle with sea salt flakes and toss.
  • Top with sliced pears and serve immediately.
What do you think?

